I’m Not On Any Crusade.

I’m not a crusader, although sometimes, I think that maybe I should be. I have just enough I’m always right in me to make it plausible. I have fast enough fingers to get research done quickly, promptly, and with little fuss. I have more than enough insane rage and irritation about the little things. Also, being a crusader would mean that people would have to listen to me and what I say on a regular basis. However, a large con is that I would be pretty damn irritated with all of the people who didn’t agree with my way of thinking because, of course, as a possible-future-crusader, my way or the highway, baby.

However, I have to admit that I really get crusader-like when it comes to asinine airheads who think they know what the fuck they’re talking about. Most especially in cases where me, the person with the overly opinionated and self-important blog going on, actually does know what the fuck they’re talking about and is completely fucking ignored.

This, of course, stems from an ongoing debate on the forum that I happen to belong to. The debate started when I posted an article about how the United States was thinking about making ER contraception far more easily accessible. (For anyone curious, it was blocked.) The debate started out about the actuality of letting kids age twelve and up getting the pill without a prescription. A lot of the people on the forum decided that it was a damn good idea, thereby proving beyond a shadow of a doubt (sarcasm) that all pagans are liberals. However, there was one person who felt that it went against her, as a parent, and so didn’t support it. And that was fine, however, it got more than a little ridiculous when rape and incest came into the picture.

“What if there’s sexual abuse? What if her parents are so strict about sex that she’ll be in trouble for having gotten in the position more than getting help and support? What if, what if… In an ideal world, sure, but rather than in an ideal world, we live in a world where there was a story here last year where a 12-yo gave birth unexpectedly while on a school trip. The baby was her father’s.” That’s a direct quote from someone who disagreed with the person who didn’t like the idea of the government relaxing the restrictions… and her response was, “I kind of answered this before. But, in that kind of case, if she can get to a pharmacy, she can get to the hospital. Or the police. It’s an unusual circumstance that you’re talking about. Not an everyday occurence. Should we risk every child out there for one who has other avenues? We can’t make everyone happy, no matter what laws we pass or how we pass them.”

And I pretty much just lost my shit, right there.

I wanted to reach through my laptop screen and bitch-slap a bitch. I mean, for fuck’s sake, really?

Hi. I was sixteen year old when a football player at my school thought it would be great to force me to have sex. I was sixteen years old. I knew what rape was. I understood the whole “I said no” aspect. Do you want to know why I didn’t say anything to anyone until months and months later? I was scared shitless that there would be backlash at school. I was scared shitless that I would have to go to court. I was scared shitless that my mother wouldn’t believe me or the cops wouldn’t believe me. And I was scared shitless that I had disappointed my mom.

Now, as I said in my previous comment, let’s multiple the fear that I had at sixteen years old to the fear of a twelve-year-old girl in a similar situation. If me, a girl from an upper middle class family who was highly educated, couldn’t have said anything to anybody about it until I was forced to then how can you even reasonably assume that a twelve-year-old girl in similar circumstances to mine would say something?

And when it comes to familial abuse, it’s rare that anyone says anything until after the fact. I don’t think you understand the courage it takes for someone to say, “This man raped me,” never mind the courage it would take for someone to say, “My father rapes me.”

I mean, for fuck’s sake here. How in the world could this woman possibly assume that a twelve-year-old girl could possibly have the wherewithal, the mental fortitude, and the courage enough to approach anyone about her being in an incestuous relationship or sexually assaulted in some form or another? The problem here is that there wasn’t any fucking thinking going on. Instead of rationality going on, she was just trying to prove her point against the masses; she was just trying to shut us the fuck up. And you know what? That fucking gets my knickers in a twist.

And it really, really, really makes me want to get on a crusade and start bitch-slapping the assholes who don’t fucking think, don’t fucking get it.

I appreciate more than I can say that there are people out there who don’t know what in the hell I’m talking about. I appreciate more than I can possibly convey that I like the idea that there are women out there who can safely say that they have never been sexually abused or assaulted. Hell, I think it’s fantastic that there are still women out there who haven’t had to live with the shame and fear of the whole situation. However, I cannot even remotely begin to possibly give two shits about those same women when they fucking try to convey their point as incorrectly and inappropriately as possible because they don’t fucking get it.

The thing is that there are certain things that people can’t possibly do because they don’t have the courage. There are people who are scared of public speaking or turning in a research paper or driving a car or flying or standing on tall buildings or or or. There are a lot of people who have a lot of different fears that either may or may not find the courage to face them.

However, the fears that they have about these mundane things in no way equals or remotely approaches the fear a man or woman has about reporting a rape, either incestuous or not. And if someone who is my age—never mind my sixteen-year-old self, but just my twenty-eight year old self—can’t fucking do it, then how in the shit is a fucking twelve-year-old expected to do it?

Leave a comment